Showing posts with label temporary disability benefits. Show all posts
Showing posts with label temporary disability benefits. Show all posts
2/03/2010
Illinois Temporary Disability Awarded After Termination for Cause
2-03-2010
The Illinois Supreme Court recently upset many Illinois defense attorneys and insurance claims professionals in a hotly contested decision ruling that the employer owes temporary disability benefits even after a "firing for cause" where the worker is on light duty restrictions and has not yet medically stabilized or reached MMI.
This case has been the subject of some spirited discussion on the Workers Compensation Forum on LinkedIn with worries that injured employees can now start fights, threaten supervisors or even commit crimes leading to their valid discharge and still be able to collect temporary total disability compensation.
For background, an Illinois construction worker, Jeff Urban, was working light duty following a legitimate heat stroke injury and returned to work on light duty when he was allegedly fired for writing religious graffiti on a store room shelf. (yes, this was the subject of an earlier post; Carpenter fired for Religious Graffiti).
It turns out that an ugly argument had erupted over an overpayment in a light duty check weeks following the graffiti incident. Although the worker had voluntarily reported the payroll error to the payroll department, he was confronted in a heated exchange about cashing and keeping the overpayment. The argument escalated when the worker called the local police to the job site to file charges of harassment against an administrative assistant whereupon he was terminated shortly thereafter.
The employer based the termination on defacement of property for writing the religious graffiti on shelves in a store room. The defacement of property would normally be a valid cause for firing in Illinois, but it came out that the graffiti occurred weeks earlier and other workers that scribbled graffiti were not similarly fired. The firing really only occurred after the heated argument over the overpayment in the light duty check which was in fact a payroll error. All temporary disability benefits were terminated following the argument and the employee's termination.
At trial, an Arbitrator denied temporary benefits after termination. The Commission however, reversed and awarded temporary disability benefits focusing on the fact that the injury had not yet stabilized nor reached MMI. They found that the worker was still temporarily disabled from his regular duty job despite the employer's argument about denying benefits over a termination for cause.
In a case of first impression, the Illinois Appellate Court considered the entitlement of a worker to temporary disability pay, or actually temporary partial disability pay, where the worker was working under light duty restrictions but fired for an unrelated cause. Interstate Scaffolding v. Workers Compensation Commission (Oct. 20, 2008, 3rd Dist App.)
The Appellate Court naturally looked to Professor Larson on Workers Compensation Law (see Larson's Worker's Compensation Law § 84.04D Physical Incapacity -- Employee's Misconduct, at 84-17 (2007).
Under prior Illinois law, the right to ongoing disability after leaving light duty employment had centered on whether the departure from light duty employment was voluntary or volitional on the worker's part or whether departure was involuntary due to the work related injury medical disability.
In reviewing cases from other jurisdictions provided by Larson's, the Interstate Appellate Court noted that some jurisdictions do deny compensation where the disability played no part in the discharge citing Palmer v. Alliance 917 So.2d 510, 514 (L.A. Ct. App.2005) and Calvert v. General Motors, 327 N.W.2d 542.546 (Mich. Ct. App. 1982) holding an employee discharged for "just cause" is not entitled to ongoing disability benefits.
Other jurisdictions however were also noted to uphold the right to collect benefits after a firing while on light duty employment only if the employee could prove that the inability to find other employment was related to the job injury disability itself, citing Cunningham v. Atlantic, 901 A.2d 956 (N.J. Super.Ct. App. Div. 2006) and Marsolek v. Hormel, 438 N.W.2d 922, 924 (Minn.1989) (that a justifiable discharge for misconduct suspends the rights to compensation unless the cause of the employee's inability to find other suitable employment is related to the work injury disability)
The Appellate Court found that there was no evidence that the employer terminated the worker merely to avoid paying disability benefits, but rather that it was the worker's own volitional conduct in defacing company property that was the real cause for discharge. The employee would have continued to receive benefits until medically stabilized but for his own misconduct. Accordingly, a divided Appellate Court found temporary benefits after the termination were properly denied.
You can contrast this decision with other recent Illinois Commission decisions in Wleklinski v Kelly Services (08 IWCC 254, March 2008) where a temporary worker at RR Donnelly suffered a wrist sprain accident on 11/14/06 with immediate notice and immediate medical care. The employer terminated the worker for leaving her machine early and failing to punch out on the day of the accident. The employer refused to pay any temporary disability benefits claiming a valid termination and they failed to provide any suitable light duty work. The arbitrator awarded temporary disability benefits and a total of $7,616.07 in penalties and attorneys fees stating that merely severing the employment relationship was not sufficient to sever the employer's obligation to provide ongoing temporary total benefits for an undisputed accident.
In Sapp v Wal-Mart (06 IWCC 459 , May 2006) a 37 year old cashier had an uncontested low back injury lifting a fan into a shopping cart. She was subsequently terminated for absenteeism while on light duty. The arbitrator denied benefits after the termination but the Commission reversed and awarded temporary benefits. The Commission focused on the test for determining ongoing entitlement to disability benefits following the termination as whether the medical condition had reached Maximum Medical Improvement and not just whether the cashier was capable of working light duty. Accordingly, the Commission awarded temporary disability benefits following the termination.
The Illinois Commission previously decided Alicea v. Sysco (06 IWCC 596, July 2006), wherein a 42 year old working for Sysco Food Services injured his right shoulder in an undisputed accident and underwent surgery for a shoulder dislocation but the employer previously fired him for violation of a safety rule during the accident. The employer then denied benefits entirely during a light duty release to return to work arguing that the safety rule violation termination barred the right to temporary disability benefits altogether. The Arbitrator held and the Commission affirmed that the termination based upon the safety rule violation did not entirely remove the worker from the sphere of employment and they awarded entitlement to temporary disability benefits.
Our Illinois Supreme Court considered the question of an employee's "discharge for cause" as a basis for denying temporary disability benefits. The Court looked to the law found in the Illinois Workers Compensation Act and found no statutory authority to justify denial, suspension, or termination of TTD benefits based upon an employee's discharge by his employer for unrelated causes. Interstate Scaffolding v. Workers Compensation Commission. (1-22-2010, Docket # 107852)The "test" according to the Court is, was and always has been whether the employee "remains temporarily disabled" as a result of the work related injury and "whether the employee is capable of returning to the work force."
They noted that the Illinois Workers Compensation Act supports suspension or termination of disability benefits for (1) refusing reasonable medical treatment, (2) for failing to cooperate with rehabilitation efforts or (3) for refusing work which falls within the treating doctor's restrictions however they concluded that no statutory basis exists in the Act for terminating benefits following an unrelated discharge for cause.
The Illinois Supreme Court was emphatic in stating that Illinois is an employment "at-will" state and an employee may be discharged for any reason or no reason at all, but whether the discharge is for a valid cause or whether the discharge is somehow discriminatory are simply matters foreign to Illinois Workers Compensation. The entitlement to ongoing temporary disability compensation is wholly a separate issue and not dependent upon the propriety of the discharge.
There are plenty of laws that govern whether a termination is proper or wrongful but that issue is not necessarily for the Commission to decide. Its their given job to decide if someone is temporarily disabled from a work related injury and not the propriety of the firing.
According to the Supreme Court, where an employee has been fired for unrelated cause by his employer, the test for deciding entitlement to ongoing TTD benefits remains whether the employee has medically stabilized or whether the employee continues to show that he is temporarily totally disabled from regular work.
Since the Commission found that this employee proved that he remained temporarily totally disabled from regular work as a result of his work injury and he proved that he had not yet reached maximum medical improvement, the Commission's award of ongoing temporary disability benefits was sufficiently supported by the evidence even in the face of an alleged "termination for cause".
This decision is not to say that the Illinois Workers Compensation Commission won't deny temporary disability benefits in the future where the facts demonstrate that some volitional act of the employee removes him or her self from light duty employment but rather, that a discharge for cause is not a basis for automatic suspension, denial or termination of temporary total disability benefits under the Illinois Workers Compensation Act
Chicago Workers Compensation Attorney -- 2-03-10
6/14/2009
Failure to Quit Smoking Defense: Disability Benefits and 3rd Surgery Awarded
6-14-09
Smoking alert. In a recent case, a smoker was denied disability benefits and denied a new surgery by his employer because he could not quit smoking following his low back surgery. While the current social and political consensus is that tobacco smoking is evil, bad and harmful, Illinois has yet to make it a criminal activity sufficient to deny workers' compensation benefits.
In Global Products (1st Dist. June 9, 2009) the IME defense doctor blamed a failed back fusion on smoking. Based upon the IME opinion, the employer denied temporary disability benefits and denied a proposed 3rd lumbar surgery. The arbitrator and the Illinois Workers Compensation Commission disagreed and awarded a full 6 years of temporary disability benefits, a third lumbar fusion surgery and awarded penalties and attorneys fees for the unreasonable denial of benefits.
Smoking or obesity are not yet in and of themselves a legitimate reason for an employer to deny surgery or to deny disability benefits in Illinois. That did not stop the employer in Global from arguing that smoking was a form of "injurious practices" under Section 19(d) of the Illinois Workers Compensation Act. The employer argued that continued smoking was a deliberate intentional act undertaken to retard the medical recovery.
The doctors agreed that there is an increased risk of fusion failure in smokers. Smokers are well advised to quit smoking to increase their healing, decrease their recovery time and increase their chances for a successful back fusion. It is clear that the doctors did advise the injured worker to quit smoking. The law is also clear that "If any employee shall persist in insanitary or injurious practices which tend to either imperil or retard his recovery or shall refuse to submit to such medical, surgical, or hospital treatment as is reasonably essential to promote his recovery, the Commission may, in its discretion, reduce or suspend the compensation. 820 ILCS 305/19(d)
There was no evidence that the worker had deliberately attempted to impair his recovery. In fact, the injured worker did make an unsuccessful attempt to quit smoking. Anyone who has tried to quit smoking knows that it is not an easy proposition.
Our Appellate Court found that the employer could "reasonably rely" upon the IME opinion blaming a failure to quit smoking in cutting off benefits and so they denied the award of penalties and attorneys fees.
What is our court saying ?? That the law did not support the employer's denial of benefits based upon a failure to quit smoking but that the "smoker defense" was reasonable enough to avoid penalties and attorneys fees. Was the court creating a new defense sufficient to tie up benefits without the imposition of penalties and fees for improperly delayed benefits?? Is this the message or are they really emphasizing that reliance on an employer's IME opinion will avoid penalties?? Are obesity and diabetes the next "reasonable defenses" sufficient to deny benefits since they are also conditions allegedly within the worker's control that impair and prolong recovery as long as the IME doctor blames these two known risk factors for a delay in recovery?? In our view, probably not. Obesity and diabetes are much harder to control.
See: Larson's Workers' Compensation Law § 10.10 Refusal of Reasonable Treatment: an unreasonable refusal to follow medical instructions will usually lead to a loss of disability benefits attributable to the refusal but, when the recommended treatment involves things like weight loss reduction .... the courts have generally been far less stern, ... (the courts) are reluctant to stigmatize human failures as a ''willful refusal.'' Here, as in the case of (refusing surgery), the test of reasonableness of the worker's refusal applies.
Although an employer's reliance upon a medical opinion will generally avoid penalties, here, that medical opinion did not support an existing defense to the payment of compensation under Illinois law. The Court held that failure to quit smoking does not constitute an intervening act breaking the chain of medical causation nor does it constitute a willful, intentional and deliberate interference with recovery.
I agree with the dissent that denying workers compensation disability benefits without an existing legal basis is unreasonable and it should generally lead to an award of penalties against the employer.
To review workers compensation benefits and existing defenses contact our Chicago workers compensation attorneys.
Chicago Workers Compensation Attorney -- 6-14-09
Smoking alert. In a recent case, a smoker was denied disability benefits and denied a new surgery by his employer because he could not quit smoking following his low back surgery. While the current social and political consensus is that tobacco smoking is evil, bad and harmful, Illinois has yet to make it a criminal activity sufficient to deny workers' compensation benefits.
In Global Products (1st Dist. June 9, 2009) the IME defense doctor blamed a failed back fusion on smoking. Based upon the IME opinion, the employer denied temporary disability benefits and denied a proposed 3rd lumbar surgery. The arbitrator and the Illinois Workers Compensation Commission disagreed and awarded a full 6 years of temporary disability benefits, a third lumbar fusion surgery and awarded penalties and attorneys fees for the unreasonable denial of benefits.
Smoking or obesity are not yet in and of themselves a legitimate reason for an employer to deny surgery or to deny disability benefits in Illinois. That did not stop the employer in Global from arguing that smoking was a form of "injurious practices" under Section 19(d) of the Illinois Workers Compensation Act. The employer argued that continued smoking was a deliberate intentional act undertaken to retard the medical recovery.
The doctors agreed that there is an increased risk of fusion failure in smokers. Smokers are well advised to quit smoking to increase their healing, decrease their recovery time and increase their chances for a successful back fusion. It is clear that the doctors did advise the injured worker to quit smoking. The law is also clear that "If any employee shall persist in insanitary or injurious practices which tend to either imperil or retard his recovery or shall refuse to submit to such medical, surgical, or hospital treatment as is reasonably essential to promote his recovery, the Commission may, in its discretion, reduce or suspend the compensation. 820 ILCS 305/19(d)
There was no evidence that the worker had deliberately attempted to impair his recovery. In fact, the injured worker did make an unsuccessful attempt to quit smoking. Anyone who has tried to quit smoking knows that it is not an easy proposition.
Our Appellate Court found that the employer could "reasonably rely" upon the IME opinion blaming a failure to quit smoking in cutting off benefits and so they denied the award of penalties and attorneys fees.
What is our court saying ?? That the law did not support the employer's denial of benefits based upon a failure to quit smoking but that the "smoker defense" was reasonable enough to avoid penalties and attorneys fees. Was the court creating a new defense sufficient to tie up benefits without the imposition of penalties and fees for improperly delayed benefits?? Is this the message or are they really emphasizing that reliance on an employer's IME opinion will avoid penalties?? Are obesity and diabetes the next "reasonable defenses" sufficient to deny benefits since they are also conditions allegedly within the worker's control that impair and prolong recovery as long as the IME doctor blames these two known risk factors for a delay in recovery?? In our view, probably not. Obesity and diabetes are much harder to control.
See: Larson's Workers' Compensation Law § 10.10 Refusal of Reasonable Treatment: an unreasonable refusal to follow medical instructions will usually lead to a loss of disability benefits attributable to the refusal but, when the recommended treatment involves things like weight loss reduction .... the courts have generally been far less stern, ... (the courts) are reluctant to stigmatize human failures as a ''willful refusal.'' Here, as in the case of (refusing surgery), the test of reasonableness of the worker's refusal applies.
Although an employer's reliance upon a medical opinion will generally avoid penalties, here, that medical opinion did not support an existing defense to the payment of compensation under Illinois law. The Court held that failure to quit smoking does not constitute an intervening act breaking the chain of medical causation nor does it constitute a willful, intentional and deliberate interference with recovery.
I agree with the dissent that denying workers compensation disability benefits without an existing legal basis is unreasonable and it should generally lead to an award of penalties against the employer.
To review workers compensation benefits and existing defenses contact our Chicago workers compensation attorneys.
Chicago Workers Compensation Attorney -- 6-14-09
5/23/2009
Temporary Disability Benefits Following “Economic Layoff"
5-23-09
Will an “economic layoff” be a solid defense against payment of temporary disability benefits where a carpenter worked for over 2 years following a shoulder injury ? The answer is no – that is, as long as the worker is still under medical care and is still “temporarily” disabled from his regular employment.
In Residential Carpentry (May 8, 2009, 3rd Dist.) the Appellate Court confirmed an award of penalties for nonpayment of TTD following a layoff and for the unreasonable refusal of the employer to authorize payment of ½ of a shoulder surgery.
Tibbitts was a union carpenter injured while lifting a 100 lb. staircase for installation in October of 2003. Following conservative care, his doctors recommended rotator cuff repair, decompression and possible clavicle resection. The employer obtained an IME exam by their doctor and agreed that the rotator cuff tear was related but not the degenerative arthritic spurs in his shoulder which necessitated the decompression and clavicle resection. So, the employer only authorized ½ of a shoulder surgery.
Since Tibbitts couldn’t get the other ½ of his shoulder surgery approved, he continued working. In June of 2004, Tibbitts reinjured the same shoulder again lifting stairs for installation. Tibbitts continued his work for the employer as a carpenter but under light duty restrictions for 17 months from June of 2004 until his layoff in December of 2005. His employer ultimately “laid him off” and said they no longer had any work for him because they were “not busy”. Although Tibbits sought work with 15 or 20 other contractors following the layoff, he could not find work within his restrictions. The company denied his disability benefits because they argued he was out of work due to economic reasons rather than due to medical reasons.
Our Appellate Court held that despite his lengthy and continued light duty work, the Commission was not prevented from finding Tibbits temporarily disabled. The mere fact that a worker is capable of some light duty work does not prevent an award of TTD. A worker is entitled to “temporary” disability benefits up until the time he is recovered to the maximum extent possible given his injury. That term is commonly called maximum medical improvement or MMI. Once an injury stabilizes to the maximum extent possible, an employee is no longer entitled to “temporary” disability. Here, Tibbitts was still under the doctor’s care and still waiting for his surgery so the court confirmed the award of benefits with attorneys’ fees and penalties.
Typically, a good faith challenge to liability for benefits will not subject an employer to penalties under the Illinois Workers Compensation Act but, the employer bears the burden of showing that the denial of benefits was reasonable. The law clearly provides that an aggravation of preexisting condition is compensable under the Act. Here, the court found it unreasonable to deny ½ the surgery where it was clearly contrary to how it would normally be treated. To try to have the doctors perform only ½ a surgery for a rotator cuff tear but not take care of the impingement or the degenerative arthritic spurring while they were in there was found clearly not medically reasonable.
Chicago Workers Compensation Attorney ---- http://WC-Chicago.com/ -- 5-23-09
Will an “economic layoff” be a solid defense against payment of temporary disability benefits where a carpenter worked for over 2 years following a shoulder injury ? The answer is no – that is, as long as the worker is still under medical care and is still “temporarily” disabled from his regular employment.
In Residential Carpentry (May 8, 2009, 3rd Dist.) the Appellate Court confirmed an award of penalties for nonpayment of TTD following a layoff and for the unreasonable refusal of the employer to authorize payment of ½ of a shoulder surgery.
Tibbitts was a union carpenter injured while lifting a 100 lb. staircase for installation in October of 2003. Following conservative care, his doctors recommended rotator cuff repair, decompression and possible clavicle resection. The employer obtained an IME exam by their doctor and agreed that the rotator cuff tear was related but not the degenerative arthritic spurs in his shoulder which necessitated the decompression and clavicle resection. So, the employer only authorized ½ of a shoulder surgery.
Since Tibbitts couldn’t get the other ½ of his shoulder surgery approved, he continued working. In June of 2004, Tibbitts reinjured the same shoulder again lifting stairs for installation. Tibbitts continued his work for the employer as a carpenter but under light duty restrictions for 17 months from June of 2004 until his layoff in December of 2005. His employer ultimately “laid him off” and said they no longer had any work for him because they were “not busy”. Although Tibbits sought work with 15 or 20 other contractors following the layoff, he could not find work within his restrictions. The company denied his disability benefits because they argued he was out of work due to economic reasons rather than due to medical reasons.
Our Appellate Court held that despite his lengthy and continued light duty work, the Commission was not prevented from finding Tibbits temporarily disabled. The mere fact that a worker is capable of some light duty work does not prevent an award of TTD. A worker is entitled to “temporary” disability benefits up until the time he is recovered to the maximum extent possible given his injury. That term is commonly called maximum medical improvement or MMI. Once an injury stabilizes to the maximum extent possible, an employee is no longer entitled to “temporary” disability. Here, Tibbitts was still under the doctor’s care and still waiting for his surgery so the court confirmed the award of benefits with attorneys’ fees and penalties.
Typically, a good faith challenge to liability for benefits will not subject an employer to penalties under the Illinois Workers Compensation Act but, the employer bears the burden of showing that the denial of benefits was reasonable. The law clearly provides that an aggravation of preexisting condition is compensable under the Act. Here, the court found it unreasonable to deny ½ the surgery where it was clearly contrary to how it would normally be treated. To try to have the doctors perform only ½ a surgery for a rotator cuff tear but not take care of the impingement or the degenerative arthritic spurring while they were in there was found clearly not medically reasonable.
Chicago Workers Compensation Attorney ---- http://WC-Chicago.com/ -- 5-23-09
11/13/2008
Carpenter Fired for Religious Graffiti Not Entitled to Disability Pay
11-14-08
An Illinois construction worker was working light duty following a legitimate work injury when he was fired for writing religious graffiti on a store room shelf. In a case of first impression, the Appellate Court considered the entitlement of a worker to temporary disability pay or temporary partial disability pay where he was working under light duty restrictions but fired for an unrelated cause. Interstate Scaffolding v. Workers Compensation Commission (Oct. 20, 2008, 3rd Dist App.)
There the Arbitrator denied benefits after the termination. The Commission however, reversed and awarded benefits focusing in on the fact that the injury had not yet stabilized nor reached MMI, so they awarded the temporary disability benefits while the worker was still temporarily disabled from his regular job.
The Appellate Court looked to Professor Larson on Workers Compensation Law (see Larson's Worker's Compensation Law § 84.04D Physical Incapacity -- Employee's Misconduct, at 84-17 (2007).
Under prior Illinois law, the right to ongoing disability after leaving light duty employment centered on whether the departure from the employment was voluntary on the workers part or involuntary due to the medical disability.
In reviewing cases from other jurisdictions provided by Larson's, the Interstate Court noted that some jurisdictions deny compensation where the disability played no part in the discharge citing Palmer v. Alliance 917 So.2d 510, 514 (L.A. Ct. App.2005) and Calvert v. General Motors, 327 N.W.2d 542.546 (Mich. Ct. App. 1982) holding an employee discharged for "just cause" is not entitled to ongoing disability benefits.
Other jurisdictions were noted to uphold the right to collect benefits after a firing while on light duty only if the employee could prove that the inability to find other employment is related to the job injury disability itself, citing Cunningham v. Atlantic, 901 A.2d 956 (N.J. Super.Ct. App. Div. 2006) and Marsolek v. Hormel, 438 N.W.2d 922, 924 (Minn.1989) (that a justifiable discharge for misconduct suspends the rights to compensation unless the cause of the employee's inability to find other suitable employment is related to the work injury disability)
In Interstate, the Illinois Appellate Court said that there was no evidence that the employer terminated the worker merely to avoid paying disability benefits, but rather that the worker's own volitional conduct in defacing company property was the real cause for proper discharge and that he would have continued to have received benefits until he medically stabilized but for his own misconduct. Accordingly, temporary benefits after the termination were properly denied.
Contrast this decision with a recent Illinois Commission decision in Wleklinski v Kelly Services (08 IWCC 254, March 2008) where a temporary worker at RR Donnelly suffered a wrist sprain accident on 11/14/06 with immediate notice and immediate medical care. The employer terminated the worker for leaving her machine early and failing to punch out on the day of the accident. The employer refused to pay any temporary disability benefits claiming a valid termination and they failed to provide any suitable light duty work. The arbitrator awarded temporary disability benefits and a total of $7,616.07 in penalties and attorneys fees stating that merely severing the employment relationship was not sufficient to sever the employer's obligation to provide ongoing temporary total benefits for an undisputed accident.
In Sapp v Wal-Mart (06 IWCC 459 , May 2006) a 37 year old cashier had an uncontested low back injury lifting a fan into a shopping cart. She was subsequently terminated for absenteeism while on light duty. The arbitrator denied benefits after the termination but the Commission reversed and awarded temporary benefits. The Commission focused on the test for determining ongoing entitlement to disability benefits following the termination as whether the medical condition had reached Maximum Medical Improvement and not just whether the cashier was capable of working light duty. Accordingly, the Commission awarded temporary disability benefits following the termination.
As well, the Illinois Commission had previously decided Alicea v. Sysco (06 IWCC 596, July 2006), wherein a 42 year old working for Sysco Food Services injured his right shoulder in an undisputed accident and underwent surgery for a shoulder dislocation but the employer previously fired him for violation of a safety rule during the accident. The employer denied benefits entirely during a light duty release to return to work arguing that the violation of safety rule barred the right to temporary disability benefits altogether. The Arbitrator held and the Commission affirmed that the termination based upon the safety rule violation did not entirely remove the worker from the sphere of employment and awarded entitlement to temporary disability benefits.
The main factors for denying benefits after a termination while on light duty work restrictions would seem to turn on (1) whether the worker's medical condition is currently temporary in nature as not yet reaching maximum medical improvement (MMI) and (2) whether the termination was based on some voluntary act or conduct of the worker and also (3) whether the work injury disability physically prevents or precludes the availability of alternate employment after the job termination.
Consultation with an Illinois workers comp attorney is advised if you have a case involving light duty restrictions and a termination from employment. The benefits may or may not be payable on a case by case basis depending on the conduct of the employee or the employer and the light duty medical status of the injured worker at the time of termination.
Chicago Workers Compensation Attorneys -- http://wc-chicago.com -- 11-14-08
An Illinois construction worker was working light duty following a legitimate work injury when he was fired for writing religious graffiti on a store room shelf. In a case of first impression, the Appellate Court considered the entitlement of a worker to temporary disability pay or temporary partial disability pay where he was working under light duty restrictions but fired for an unrelated cause. Interstate Scaffolding v. Workers Compensation Commission (Oct. 20, 2008, 3rd Dist App.)
There the Arbitrator denied benefits after the termination. The Commission however, reversed and awarded benefits focusing in on the fact that the injury had not yet stabilized nor reached MMI, so they awarded the temporary disability benefits while the worker was still temporarily disabled from his regular job.
The Appellate Court looked to Professor Larson on Workers Compensation Law (see Larson's Worker's Compensation Law § 84.04D Physical Incapacity -- Employee's Misconduct, at 84-17 (2007).
Under prior Illinois law, the right to ongoing disability after leaving light duty employment centered on whether the departure from the employment was voluntary on the workers part or involuntary due to the medical disability.
In reviewing cases from other jurisdictions provided by Larson's, the Interstate Court noted that some jurisdictions deny compensation where the disability played no part in the discharge citing Palmer v. Alliance 917 So.2d 510, 514 (L.A. Ct. App.2005) and Calvert v. General Motors, 327 N.W.2d 542.546 (Mich. Ct. App. 1982) holding an employee discharged for "just cause" is not entitled to ongoing disability benefits.
Other jurisdictions were noted to uphold the right to collect benefits after a firing while on light duty only if the employee could prove that the inability to find other employment is related to the job injury disability itself, citing Cunningham v. Atlantic, 901 A.2d 956 (N.J. Super.Ct. App. Div. 2006) and Marsolek v. Hormel, 438 N.W.2d 922, 924 (Minn.1989) (that a justifiable discharge for misconduct suspends the rights to compensation unless the cause of the employee's inability to find other suitable employment is related to the work injury disability)
In Interstate, the Illinois Appellate Court said that there was no evidence that the employer terminated the worker merely to avoid paying disability benefits, but rather that the worker's own volitional conduct in defacing company property was the real cause for proper discharge and that he would have continued to have received benefits until he medically stabilized but for his own misconduct. Accordingly, temporary benefits after the termination were properly denied.
Contrast this decision with a recent Illinois Commission decision in Wleklinski v Kelly Services (08 IWCC 254, March 2008) where a temporary worker at RR Donnelly suffered a wrist sprain accident on 11/14/06 with immediate notice and immediate medical care. The employer terminated the worker for leaving her machine early and failing to punch out on the day of the accident. The employer refused to pay any temporary disability benefits claiming a valid termination and they failed to provide any suitable light duty work. The arbitrator awarded temporary disability benefits and a total of $7,616.07 in penalties and attorneys fees stating that merely severing the employment relationship was not sufficient to sever the employer's obligation to provide ongoing temporary total benefits for an undisputed accident.
In Sapp v Wal-Mart (06 IWCC 459 , May 2006) a 37 year old cashier had an uncontested low back injury lifting a fan into a shopping cart. She was subsequently terminated for absenteeism while on light duty. The arbitrator denied benefits after the termination but the Commission reversed and awarded temporary benefits. The Commission focused on the test for determining ongoing entitlement to disability benefits following the termination as whether the medical condition had reached Maximum Medical Improvement and not just whether the cashier was capable of working light duty. Accordingly, the Commission awarded temporary disability benefits following the termination.
As well, the Illinois Commission had previously decided Alicea v. Sysco (06 IWCC 596, July 2006), wherein a 42 year old working for Sysco Food Services injured his right shoulder in an undisputed accident and underwent surgery for a shoulder dislocation but the employer previously fired him for violation of a safety rule during the accident. The employer denied benefits entirely during a light duty release to return to work arguing that the violation of safety rule barred the right to temporary disability benefits altogether. The Arbitrator held and the Commission affirmed that the termination based upon the safety rule violation did not entirely remove the worker from the sphere of employment and awarded entitlement to temporary disability benefits.
The main factors for denying benefits after a termination while on light duty work restrictions would seem to turn on (1) whether the worker's medical condition is currently temporary in nature as not yet reaching maximum medical improvement (MMI) and (2) whether the termination was based on some voluntary act or conduct of the worker and also (3) whether the work injury disability physically prevents or precludes the availability of alternate employment after the job termination.
Consultation with an Illinois workers comp attorney is advised if you have a case involving light duty restrictions and a termination from employment. The benefits may or may not be payable on a case by case basis depending on the conduct of the employee or the employer and the light duty medical status of the injured worker at the time of termination.
Chicago Workers Compensation Attorneys -- http://wc-chicago.com -- 11-14-08
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)
